Adam Lowry Wins Four Broncos Memorial Trophy

Lowry with the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy

Lowry with the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy

Interview with Adam Lowry (Download)

Interview with Mark Lamb (Download)

Huge congratulations are in order to Adam Lowry on this tremendous achievement. It’s one thing to have a great season and be listed among the great players in all of the WHL and it’s another thing entirely to be recognized as the WHL Player of the Year. Management, coaches and media throughout the WHL gave Lowry their votes and put him a step above all his peers. It’s something he should be extremely proud of and is an honour I know Bronco fans are thrilled to see Lowry receive.

I’m in a bit of a rush here so for now I’ll post my article from Swift Current Online and maybe chime in a bit more later. Don’t forget to watch this blog and Swift Current Online for WHL Bantam Draft 2013 results tomorrow. I’ll have reaction from both the team and the young draft picks.

Lowry Awards 190

Here is my article from Swift Current Online on Lowry’s award:

A remarkable way to cap a remarkable season for Swift Current Broncos Captain Adam Lowry.

Lowry is the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy recipient as WHL Player of the Year.

He received the honour during the WHL awards luncheon today.

“I know how much the award means to the Broncos organization after being named after the four Broncos who tragically passed away in the bus crash 26 years ago,” Lowry said. “To be able to bring that trophy back to them it’s a huge honour.”

“Swift Current has given me a great opportunity to mature not only as a player but as a person over the past four years. I owe the organization and the community a lot.”

The Calgary product scored 45 goals and 43 assists this season while playing in every situation for Swift Current. He was second on the Broncos with a +18 rating and factored in on 43% of the team’s goals. Lowry finished 6th in the WHL in goals, 12th in points, tied for 8th with 14 power play goals, tied for 2nd with 6 shorthanded goals and tied for 2nd with 8 game-winning goals.

“What he’s done for our organization in the last four years has been incredible,” said Broncos Coach/GM Mark Lamb. “When we put our identity together in what type of team we want to be like and play like he’s the perfect guy… it’s a huge honour for him it’s a huge honour for the organization.”

Lamb tried to put his finger on what allowed Lowry to stand out from among all the top players in the WHL this season.

“It’s his heart and character and really wanting to be a player,” Lamb said. “He’s a very coach-able guy in all aspects of the game and he’s a student of the game… he’s going to have a long career.”

Lowry was also the only unanimous selection to the WHL Eastern Conference First All-Star Team, Captained Team WHL at the Subway Super Series and was named Player of the Month in December as he was in the middle of a 21 game point streak. While Lowry had high hopes entering his 19-year-old season, his sights weren’t necessarily set this high.

“I didn’t think I’d come in and be the best player in the league or mean the most to my team by any means,” Lowry said. “I just wanted to be a consistent performer. I tried to get better every day and I felt a lot of it had to do with confident. As the season wore on I started to get better and started to get more confident. It really allowed my game to take it to the next level.”

The son of former NHLer Dave Lowry, Adam dealt with adversity throughout his career including a bout of mono in his sophomore season and a broken wrist in his third season.

“I wanted to come in and prove that my wrist injury wasn’t going to hamper my development,” Lowry said. “Being able to lean on (Dave Lowry) was really helpful my 18-year-old year when I missed my second half with injury. He just told me to continue to work hard and your hard work is gonna pay off. There were long days in the gym where I didn’t think it would pay off. I wanted to be on the ice and helping the Broncos out.”

He is the first Bronco to win the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy since Sergei Varlamov in 1997-98 and the fourth to win it overall. Jason Krywulak took it home in 1992-93 and Joe Sakic twice won the award in 1986-87 and 1987-88.

“A lot of that credit goes to my teammates they really helped out,” Lowry said in specifically referencing line-mates like Coda Gordon and Colby Cave. “I think I was fortunate enough my 16-year-old year to watch what Cody Eakin was able to do. The way he was able to change games and push to wins. Last year Taylor Vause kind of willed us to wins some nights. I tried take little things from each of their games and tried to lead by example on the ice.”

The 6’5 and 201lbs forward played for Lamb in all four his seasons with the Broncos. He was converted to centre this season after spending his first three at left wing.

“Mark Lamb and the coaching staff in the organization have done me a great job in allowing me to learn at my own pace,” Lowry added. “It’s been a long process. I’ve made a lot of good, life-long friends like Reece Scarlett.. we came in as 16-year-olds and we’re finishing our careers as 19-year-olds this season… they’ve done a great job developing us and I couldn’t be more thrilled to have played for the Broncos.”

Lowry recently signed a three-year entry-level contract with the Winnipeg Jets. He finished the season with Winnipeg’s AHL affiliate in St. John’s and is set to start his professional career full-time this fall.

The Broncos will now turn their attention to Thursday’s WHL Bantam Draft. They pick 12th in the first round.

Lowry Awards 204

About shawnmullin

Play by Play Broadcaster for the WHL's Swift Current Broncos on 94.1 FM The Eagle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

