Future Bronco Reporter & New Sponsor

A young fan was taking notes when the Broncos played Lethbridge (Photo by Darwin Knelsen)

A young fan was taking notes when the Broncos played Lethbridge (Photo by Darwin Knelsen)

First a quick note on our new sponsor and my new job. I mentioned it on twitter and figured I’d throw something up here too. This week I started a new position as a Sales and Lease Consultant with Standard Motors in Swift Current. It’s a big change, but the great news in relation to the Broncos is that I’m able to continue with Golden West Radio on a contract basis as the voice of the Broncos while working full-time in car/truck/etc sales. I’ve loved every minute covering the WHL in Swift Current and look forward to many more years doing that thanks to the support of both Standard Motors and Golden West Radio… great organizations that I’m proud to work for.

Standard Motors is also a supporter of this blog and if you enjoy it please feel free to click on the link on the right margin of this page to view our website and see what we have to offer. If you or anyone you know is looking for a new or used vehicle we can help you out and I’d be glad to work with you on that. Call me at any time on my cell phone at 306-772-0120 or email me at my new address of smullin@standardmotors.ca if you have any questions.

Now to the main point of this post. As we get set for the final weekend of the regular season and fan appreciation night this evening at the Credit Union iPlex, I have a fun story to pass on for fans. The other day I received this note in my inbox:

Good morning,

My daughter Rebecca Elliott, 8 years old, was “reporting” at the Bronco game the other night. I didn’t think she was even paying attention at the time but she was actually writing down all the game highlights as she saw them.

Anyways, I had sent her “report”  to Andrea Evjen this morning as Reese was one of the girls Rebecca was with and Andrea thought you may get a kick out of it….seeing the game through an 8 year old girl’s eyes.

Have a great day!

Kelley Elliott  (Rebecca’s mom)

I enjoyed Rebecca’s report so much I asked if I could share it with you all and got permission to do so. This is the kind of true passion from a young fan that the Broncos are all about. I think we in the media might have someone gunning for our jobs soon! Here is what she sent me:

03012014 Bronco game recap by Rebecca-page-001

03012014 Bronco game recap by Rebecca-page-002 03012014 Bronco game recap by Rebecca-page-00303012014 Bronco game recap by Rebecca-page-004 03012014 Bronco game recap by Rebecca-page-005 03012014 Bronco game recap by Rebecca-page-006 03012014 Bronco game recap by Rebecca-page-007 03012014 Bronco game recap by Rebecca-page-008

Great job Rebecca! I love seeing that kind of passion for the team and I can see a great future for her covering hockey if she wants it.

See you all at the game tonight. It’s a huge one.

About shawnmullin

Play by Play Broadcaster for the WHL's Swift Current Broncos on 94.1 FM The Eagle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Future Bronco Reporter & New Sponsor

  1. Jenn Goodwin says:

    That’s amazing, Shawn! Way to go Rebecca. I love to see passion for journalism… and hockey 🙂

  2. Anonymous says:

    Very impressive Rebecca! I sure enjoyed this and loved that u had an ice cream break hahahah! So cute!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Awesome job Rebecca!!!! Can’t wait to see your work for the playoffs!

Leave a Reply

