Weise OT Hero

weise ot winner

One of the most rewarding things about being a junior hockey fan is seeing the guys who played in your city make it. There have been a number of Broncos on the big stage lately and it’s awesome to think back to when they were first just baby-faced training camp hopefuls before developing to deliver on the biggest stage. I wasn’t here when Dale Weise played for the Broncos but I know he earned a lot of fans over that time. I also know he was somewhat of a long shot to be where he is today scoring both goals in a comeback overtime playoff win for hockey’s most historic franchise.

I’m not going to lie and pretend I’m cheering for Montreal. I’m from Ottawa so I would like to see Ottawa win the series, but it’s pretty awesome to watch a guy who cut his teeth here exceed expectations with the spotlight of the hockey world right on him. I’m sure Weise and company are hoping this is just the beginning of their heroics. There’s nothing quite like playoff hockey.

Now as an Oilers fan I can only hope their little shot of luck this weekend will mean they’re on their way back to moments like that sometime soon too.

Until then I’ll have the TV tuned in tomorrow night and will hopefully see Adam Lowry write some more history as his Jets host their first playoff game in a new era. You can scroll down to my next post for more Broncos news. Have a great week!

About shawnmullin

Play by Play Broadcaster for the WHL's Swift Current Broncos on 94.1 FM The Eagle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

