Report: DeBrusk traded to Red Deer

Broncos DeBrusk 30th

Jake DeBrusk (photo by Darwin Knelsen for scbroncos.com)

After weeks and months of rumours it looks like Jake DeBrusk is finally on the move. You can click here for my article on the report from Jeff Marek and confirmation from several other sources.

Even talking about this report is unusual for me because generally we abide by a policy of reporting roster moves only when given the go ahead by the team. It allows them to control how a teenager receives that information before it goes public. In this case the reports are widespread enough there was no hope of doing that.

Do I believe the reports? Yes I do. That said I haven’t received official confirmation of any sort and wouldn’t have because at the time this came out the WHL was still coming out of a Christmas break roster freeze.

I’ve heard a few different things on the return. We can save that speculation until the teams make it official this morning.

If it is true (as I suspect it is) I’m sure you’ll all join me in thanking Jake for his contributions to Swift Current. From those two game winners in the Medicine Hat series to 42 goals last season… he’s a hell of a hockey player and young man.

The last conversation I had with him before the trade he told me he had noticed a post I had put up a month before about him being my step-son’s favourite player and how Daron had received one of his bobbleheads from his grandparents for his birthday. Without prompting he offered to sign it for him.

He’s a class act from a class family and always has been in my dealings with him. Red Deer would be lucky to have him.

About shawnmullin

Play by Play Broadcaster for the WHL's Swift Current Broncos on 94.1 FM The Eagle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

