Jets GM Talks Lowry

One of Kevin Cheveldayoff’s first acts as General Manager of the new Winnipeg Jets was to draft Adam Lowry. The Swift Current Broncos forward was the second pick by the Jets in the 2011 NHL Draft. I had the chance to quickly chat with Cheveldayoff about selecting Lowry and their vision for his development.

download

I appreciate the Jets getting back to me so quickly.

Winnipeg isn’t holding a development camp, but several other current and former Broncos are participating in camps this month. Cody Eakin and Steffan Soberg are at Washington’s, Reece Scarlett is at New Jersey’s, Justin Dowling was at Calgary’s camp and Richard Nedomlel was at Detroit’s.

I’ve already talked to a few people who are intensely following the Washington camp. There should be a lot of information coming out of there. I will try to collect some of that for you later. For now I need a nap before calling an Indians game tonight in Regina.

I did want to mention that former Bronco Levi Nelson has signed in Germany. He spent the season with Boston and Tampa’s AHL affiliates. Former Broncos Brent Sopel and Shane Hnidy are still on the market. They could bring veteran leadership to any team still looking for some help on the back-end.

I also want to quickly thank the Smoke Eaters for inviting me back to MC their Alumni Banquet. I love it here in Swift Current and am so happy I made the move, but I will always appreciate all they did for me in Trail. The special guests were Oilers GM Steve Tambellini and his son Jeff. For an Oilers fan that was a hard bill to resist. Both Tambellinis were class acts and did a lot to give back to that club and the ALS Society in the name of Gene Lenardon. I had a blast and got to visit with Laura at the same time. Not a bad way to spend a weekend!

Next I get to take part in the golf tournament this weekend to open the new Crescent Point Wickenheiser Centre in Shaunavon. That building has been years in the making and will host a couple of WHL exhibition games in September.

As much fun as that will be it’s hard not to focus on the Broncos Hall of Fame golf tournament and banquet coming up in August. Joe Sakic is going to be inducted and the dinner is already sold out. I’m on the committee this year and we’ve been working hard to put together a night you will really enjoy. I hope it comes together like we’re envisioning it.

More on development camps later this week.

About shawnmullin

Play by Play Broadcaster for the WHL's Swift Current Broncos on 94.1 FM The Eagle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment