Broncos 4 Oil Kings 2

A nice win for the Broncos over Edmonton. They killed 11 Oil Kings power plays and scored twice shorthanded. It was a strong special teams game for the Broncos and a good performance by Austin Smith between the pipes. Adam Lowry led the way with two goals while the Andy Blanke/Josh Derko/Daniel Dale line seemed to set the tone with their aggressive play.

I caught up with Assistant Coach Darren Evjen, Lowry and Smith after the game. The Evjen interview has a brief delay I couldn’t edit on this computer so just be patient with it.

Darren Evjen (Download)

Adam Lowry (Download)

Austin Smith (Download)

I really liked the way the Broncos played. They had some jam and aggressiveness. I hope they are able to carry that kind of effort forward. It’s late already so I won’t talk about individuals or I might go on for another hour or so. I will maybe recap some of my feelings about their performance when we get back to Swift Current. The Broncos are back at it tomorrow afternoon against Red Deer. I will be live blogging it again starting at around 2:30pm. The puck drops at 3pm. It was a smaller crowd for tonight’s live blog. Probably because it’s Labour Day Sunday! I am still enjoying the process and hope you have been too.

CLICK HERE FOR THE BRONCOS/REBELS LIVE BLOG


(Daniel Dale does battle with Klarc Wilson in an intense scrap)

About shawnmullin

Play by Play Broadcaster for the WHL's Swift Current Broncos on 94.1 FM The Eagle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Broncos 4 Oil Kings 2

  1. Anonymous says:

    shawn……..great job on the game – live blog!!! it was great to keep involved as to what was happening in the game….much appreciated

  2. Anonymous says:

    Missed the live blog last night, but read it b4 bed. Thanks for the work your putting in.
    Like we discussed in te black white game that blanke/derko/Dale line will cause some problems for teams.

Leave a comment