Blades 3 Broncos 0, Cave and Scarlett Interviews

It was a very promising game for the Broncos, but one that didn’t turn out the way you would hope for. You never want to get shut out as fans love goals. Especially given that it was the one and only “regular roster” pre-season game played in Swift Current.

That said, the Broncos carried the play for most of the game. They don’t give you points for time of possession or more shots, but this is pre-season. Wins and losses aren’t as important as making strides as a group and getting a good chance to evaluate your personnel.

It’s interesting that the Broncos were able to generate lots of shots and possession even without every member of the top returning line from last season of Vause/Hoban/Lowry and without arguably two of their top 3 d-men in Nedomlel and Scarlett. The Blades of course were missing a lot of top talent as well. I think the point I’m trying to get at is that the Broncos did a lot of things well and were perhaps missing their finishers.

Even though it was 1-0 Blades through two periods I would have guessed the team would be relatively happy with what they did in those periods. The Broncos were the more physical team of the two. They were stronger and smarter in their own end. They got the cycle going and created chances. Austin Smith was looking good in goal. The last five minutes of the first period weren’t great, but most of the first 40 minutes were positive.

I’d say they would have been less happy with the third. There didn’t seem to be the same level of fire and push back we have seen from the Broncos late in the two most recent pre-season games.

Two key moments in the game for me were Makarov’s excellent save when Magnus threw a great cross-crease pass to Cave and the Saskatoon goaltender took it away. The other was Peddle hitting the post in the third. The Broncos were on the cusp of scoring so many times that if they can make one of those count the game swings. That is how momentum can work for you and against you.

Colby Cave summed it up well by saying they couldn’t take advantage of their chances while the Blades made Broncos mistakes count. I liked Cave’s game including a spectacular move on a shorthanded rush to dangle through a defenceman for a chance. Here is my interview with him after the game…

Broncos Forward Colby Cave (Download)

Broncos Defenceman Reece Scarlett (Download)

I also spoke to Reece Scarlett during the third period of the game. We talked about his goals for New Jersey Devils camp next week and how he feels things are coming together with the Broncos. Scarlett is expecting to play Saturday in Regina before he goes.

Other quick thoughts?

I really liked Heatherington’s game in the first two periods against Saskatoon. He got a bit scrambly in the third though. If he can be the guy he was in the first two periods more often than not Broncos fans are going to be very happy with him.

Graham Black is as skilled as anyone on this roster now and I believe has the potential to be a go-to offensive player even as an 18-year-old rookie. The puck follows him. As he builds chemistry with his teammates I think he is going to be a very important weapon for Swift Current. He impresses me more each game.

Trevor Cameron has an extra gear so far this year. He looks faster than ever, is getting in the middle of everything and has been throwing his body around a lot too. This is a very important year for him. I think all the 19-year-olds realize there are some young guys knocking at the door and so far Cameron has answered that push.

I like how the blue line has been more aggressive at times throughout pre-season. They are pinching more and jumping up more. I liked Craig stepping into the offensive zone for a big hit when he saw he was backed up. A confident and aggressive group of defencemen will keep the other teams honest and open up space for forwards.

Austin Smith had another very solid performance. By my count that is 7 good periods in a row from Smith. He has talked a couple of times about the work he did with goaltending coach Kevin Swanson on his mental game. So far so good for the one time 2nd round WHL bantam draft pick. I’m guessing it will be Steven Myland’s turn to answer in Regina.

OK I’ll stop there before I address every guy on the team. I think with individuals there was a lot to like at times during the game. It just didn’t feel like quite as powerful an effort from them as we saw at times in Edmonton. Hopefully the group can get back to that in Regina and pop a few goals.

Speaking of Regina, they put on quite a show against Medicine Hat in Shaunavon. Golden West Radio’s Colin Powers was there and tweeted up a storm from the game. Watch Swift Current Online for his story and audio from the 6-5 Pats win. Shaunavon product Dyson Stevenson scored the shoot out winner in front of his home fans. That had to be a thrill.

I had a few Bronco related article links on my twitter yesterday as well. Always watch the twitter for stuff like that. I will try to get into the habit of gathering some links here too. Twitter is easier though. I’ve already been working enough today!

Just finished up work on some of our 9/11 anniversary stuff and boy does that bring back some awful memories. I can’t believe it’s been ten years. On a personal note I can’t believe it’s been ten years since I was bumming around in university and living in an absolute hole of an apartment in downtown Ottawa. It is one of those few days in our lives that stands out vividly even years later. I can remember almost everything I did that day, but it’s certainly not a day I like to remember. We will have some localized coverage of that anniversary for you on Swift Current Online and on the radio on Sunday.

On a lighter note, check out the Midget AAA female tournament at Fairview West throughout the rest of the weekend. The Diamond Energy Wildcats lost 5-0 to Regina today and play twice on Saturday (9:45am and 7:45pm) with a special exhibition at 2:45pm between the Universities of Saskatchewan and Lethbridge.

The guys Midget AAA Home Hardware Legionnaires visit Notre Dame on Sunday for their first exhibition game under new coach Jason Johns.

I will next talk to you tomorrow night live from Regina. It will be the last live blog before the start of the regular season. I won’t be able to make it to Prince Albert on Friday night and I’m broadcasting the final pre-season game in Shaunavon next Saturday.

Is anyone interested in my continuing to post live blogs every game as a place for at least fans to gather and carry on conversation during the broadcasts? I won’t be able to drop in on it much but it might be fun. Send me some feedback if it’s something you would appreciate having. It could serve as a bit of a pre-game chat as well.

OK talk to you from Regina tomorrow at about 6:45pm as usual.

About shawnmullin

Play by Play Broadcaster for the WHL's Swift Current Broncos on 94.1 FM The Eagle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Blades 3 Broncos 0, Cave and Scarlett Interviews

  1. Roger says:

    Shawn,….could you post some info/stats from the female AAA midget game yesterday?.
    Who were the goalies for both teams?

    Is there a website for the tournament?
    My daughter is participating,I can`t find this info anywhere.

Leave a comment